Posted in Planner Life

How Many Years Does it Take to Get to Planner Peace?

Two years into planner life and I have yet to find peace. In the planner Facebook groups I’m in, people often wonder if planner peace is even possible. I thought I had it figured out, making my own planner specifically to my needs. Turns out that even custom making my own planner isn’t enough.

Don’t get me wrong, I loved my Passion Planner last year and I love my custom planner this year all the more. But in both cases I’ve found sections I thought I’d use that I actually don’t and other sections that I wish the planners had.

The year has hardly begun, and I already find myself speculating about 2018. Should I modify my current planner and make a new custom planner for 2018? Maybe bullet journaling is really what I need. Perhaps the simple organization of Sew Much Crafting inserts will finally bring me peace.

If I’m being honest with myself, the only path to planner peace is spending years trying out different planners until I find the one that fits perfectly. I know some people by a bunch of different planners at once, trying them out off and on throughout the year, but I can’t bring myself to do that. If I’m going to buy a planner, I’m going to use it. I’m going to use it all 365 days of the year. Not only will this drive home what I don’t like about the planner, but what I do like.

Today, I’m leaning toward some Sew Much Crafting inserts for 2018. On particularly busy days, I’ll miss each day having it’s own page, but I think it will be better overall.

Tell me your stories of planner peace. Have you found a system that works? How many years have you been using your system and how did you know it was the one?

leave a comment

Author:

Tonya is a flamboyant nerd with too many interests to count. It has been said that more thoughts come and go from her mind in one minute than go through most people's minds in a day. When she gets the chance to make sense of those thoughts, she enjoys sharing them on her blog, Mildly Organized Mayhem.

Leave a Reply

