Posted in Planner Life

My Year With Passion Planner

2016 was my first year solidly in the world of planning. I had no idea the community was so large or that the selection of planners was so vast. Among all the options, I choose Passion Planner as my planner of choice for the year. Their set up was geared towards achieving goals and that’s exactly what I wanted for my year.

Passion Planner is a tool that many will find useful and some will find restrictive. It really depends on what you want out of you planner and how much freedom you want to have over its week to week design. Let’s look at some of the pros and cons of this unique planner.

Pros:

Detailed Goal Setting

Passion Planner is made with big dreams in mind. It starts out with tools to map out your main goals for the year and break those down into micro goals to schedule throughout the year. I found this really inspiring. It made me look at my goals in a completely different light and make them seem realistically achievable.

Space for Personal Projects and Work Projects

Passion Planner assumes its users have both work projects and personal projects. I really appreciated how these two parts of life were given space in each weekly layout. Where some people may feel the need to have a planner for each of these parts of life, Passion Planner makes it easy for them both to be organized in one space.

Space to Create

Each monthly and weekly spread includes a big blank space for you to do with what you want. It was great to have a space that could change with your needs each week.I personally used the space for idea generation and making notes.

Month and Year Reflections

This is part of the goal setting portion of the planner.These sections keep you on track with your goal and force you to ask if you did enough to accomplish your goal.During good months, it was a great way to reflect on all I had done. During bad months, it was a kick in the butt to get a move on.

Minimalistic
If you’re looking for a planner that gets straight to the point and has everything you need without adding stickers, then Passion Planner is ideal. You can decorate with stickers if you want – I certainly did throughout the year – but that can be redundant. Everything you need is already there.
The Come Dated and Undated

If you want a Passion Planner that starts in May, you can make it happen. Passion Planner has both dated and undated planners, so you can buy what you need when you need it. The undated planners even come with a Monday start if that’s what you need!

Cons:

The Specificity Can Feel Restrictive

What happens if you change your goal a few months into the year? Or maybe you don’t have a day job to fill in the list for work projects? Passion Planner is built to move you towards the main goal you set at the beginning of the year and not much else. If your goals and needs vary from month to month, it can be hard to customize the planner to fit in.

Too Much and Not Enough

I found that some weeks I would have completely filled out and other weeks would be nearly bare. Sometimes there were things I wanted to track and there just didn’t seem to be enough room with everything else in there. All the different sections in the planner a great – if you use them. If not, they just take up space that could be better used for something else.

Calendars are Useless

I’ve heard this complaint laid against many planners and I lay it against Passion Planner, too. The monthly spreads are nice, but there’s no reason to look at them instead of looking at the current week. A lot of the sections in the calendar spread are nearly the same as the weekly spreads. I really wish those areas were filled with something else.

Hard to Decorate

This con isn’t really fair to Passion Planner. It can’t help that it’s a bit new to the planner scene compared to other planners. As such, there aren’t many stickers out there for the planner. I’ve found a few on Etsy, but absolutely nothing in craft stores.

Big is Too Big and Small is Too Small

I used the large Passion Planner in 2016. Each page was a full 8.5 x 11 inches. I thought I’d need the space, but it was such a chore to lug around. For 2017, I bought one of the smaller planners, thinking the size would suit me better. While the size of the planner did suit me better, there then wasn’t enough space for all the things I wanted to put in the planner. I ended up gifting the planner to a friend for Christmas.

No Dated Monday Start

This bugged me more than I thought it would. When I have plans during the weekend, they often take up the whole weekend. With a Sunday start, I had to divide that event across two weekly spreads. It just didn’t feel right. I didn’t want to have to switch to an undated planner just to get a Monday start.

Final Verdict:

I believe Passion Planner is the ideal tool for those who have a single, primary goal for the year or for those who have a huge project planned for the year. It’s also very good for balancing personal tasks with work tasks. However, if your goals change throughout the year or if you don’t have a singular focus for the year, I don’t think it works very well.

Using Passion Planner was a big learning experience for me. I figured out many of the things I did and didn’t want to track. For 2017, I decided to make my own planner customized to my needs. I have a lot of confidence that this design will be just what I need this year.

leave a comment

Author:

Tonya is a flamboyant nerd with too many interests to count. It has been said that more thoughts come and go from her mind in one minute than go through most people's minds in a day. When she gets the chance to make sense of those thoughts, she enjoys sharing them on her blog, Mildly Organized Mayhem.

Leave a Reply

